

Grassroots racing since 1995

Team DICE Mississippi Bluffs Road Race Illinois State Road Championship July 18, 2009 Port Byron, IL



www.dicetraining.com

Cool temps during warm up and warming to a high of 75 degrees by race end was a beautiful day for racing. The 15-mile country road course was partly tree lined, hilly, with open areas for the wind to provide some added resistance, as if all the hills were not enough. About a third of the way out you dropped into a valley and with no momentum you climb out on a series of steps before reaching a high point. Eventually you dropped down to flat terrain for a steady pace about half way through you encountered the mark of Zorro chicane, where some thought it would be great to breakaway. Within a couple miles of the finish were a couple hills, the first was no problem but the second gave a false peak, when you looked up there was the finish further up. Go now chances a burn out go later chance the leading the sprinters. Can I get a gap to hold? Can I keep from blowing up? Indecision ruled as the sprint began too early for a few too late for many.

COURSE: 15 mile winding hilly 2-lane road loop with an uphill finish. Parking and registration was at Adventure Quest next to Start / Finish line. All categories raced two laps-30 miles except for Juniors and Beginner/Cat 5 racing one lap.

<u>Juniors, Category 5 and Beginner Master 50+</u> started together and raced one-lap of 15 miles. The Junior racers pushed the pace hard enough to drop most of the Cat 5 and Beginner Masters; the sprint finish was an uphill battle to the line. Rider must be an Annual Member of ABR to be ABR IL Champion.

Juniors

Overall	ABR IL Champion	#			
1		261	John	Angelatos-17	
2		264	Sam	Gabuzzi	
3	Champion	259	Andrew	Lindner-17	Vision Quest
4		208	Konrad	Witt-13	ABD
5		232	David	Lombardo	Verdigris
6		267	Michael	Keller-15	SCW
7		217	Matt	Meyer-13	Smart Cycling

Category 5

1	258	William	Hoffman	
2	231	Joe	Berenyi	
3	207	Walt	Dethlefs	
Dnf-flat	269	Lucas	Guylon	

Beginner Master 50+

1	243	Gerry	Voelliger	
2	209	Scott	Witt	ABD
3	249	Roger	Fobair	

Category Open, Category 4, Master 30 and Master 40 started and raced together for their 2-lap 30-mile race. Deninger, Moritz and Duethman broke away by the end of the first lap and finished together. The field of Category 4, 30 and 40 riders only lost one rider off the back in the first lap. Deninger Finished just ahead of Moritz and Duethman in 1-1/4 hours. Harris made a small break from the hard chasing field who came charging through the finish line.

Category Open

Overall	ABR IL Champion	#			
1		262	Paul	Deninger	IA DICE
2		250	Bryan	Moritz	IA DICE
3		263	Greg	Duethman	IA DICE

Category 4

5	ABR IL	247	Adam	Leibman	ABD
	Champion				
8		251	Dave	Keil	Unattached
18		256	Kyle	Tabor	Unattached
20		257	Mark	Tanka	Northbrook BC

Master 30

6	ABR IL	253	Tim	Henry	Project 5 Racing
	Champion			,	
7		254	Andy	Powell	Project 5 Racing
17		233	Chris	Lombardo	Verdigris
19		255	Kevin	Stephens	Project 5 Racing

Master 40

4	ABR IL	228	Brian	Harris	PYOC
	Champion				
9		252	Mark	Wright	Freeport Bicycle
					Company
10		227	Robert	Brokaw	Team Mack
11		244	Don	Lowe	Team Mack
12		268	Kevin	Wohlford	
13		222	Eric	Helm	Unattached
14		234	Arno	Granados	
15		237	James	Sneddon	ABD
16		221	Colm	Flannery	Proctor Cycling Team

Master 50-54, 55-59, Master Women 50+ and Women Open raced together in their 2-lap 30 mile race. It took only 41 minutes for Mike Jones to complete lap one, with a field of 18 not far behind. 7 more riders were spread out behind the field. 19 riders screamed down the last leg, the last downhill jockeying for position and eyeing the competition the final uphill to the finish loomed ahead. Who is jumping early who's grabbing a great wheel to sprint past in the final feet? Power masters Johnson and Mattson have a gap, Jones up there, here comes sprinters Dust and Zielinski, McKillip, Kreutzfeldt and the pack...Gary Johnson takes 1st overall and Debbie Dust 2nd. Next year they need one more lap to wear down and spread the riders out. Rider must be an Annual Member of ABR to be ABR IL Champion.

Master 50-54

Master	3 U- 3 4				
Overall	ABR IL Champion				
1	•	235	Gary	Johnson	
3	Champion	230	Ron	Mattson	Freeport Bicycle Co.
5		201	Mike	Jones	PACT-Dishnetwork
8		260	Mark	Shea	Team Mack
9		265	Chris	Dial	Mid South
11		242	John	Deifel	Project 5 Racing
12		205	Jon	Lafontant	PYOC / RRB
17		210	Steven	Gage	Unattached
18		220	Daniel	Hill	Peoria Bicycle Club
19		238	Robert	Kenneke	Freeport Bicycle Co.
20		211	Bob	Marshall	ABD
22		240	David	Haussler	DICE
23		229	Mike	Giudici	
24		226	Patrick	Hanrahan	
Flat-dnf		224	David	Skogley	Vision Quest

Master 55-59

4	ABR IL	203	Grant	Zielinski	
	Champion				
6		266	Jeff	McKillip	Emery's
7		241	Richard	Kreutzfeldt	2CC-Pony Shop
10		213	Mike	Vonnahmen	Peoria BC / Proctor Hospital
13		206	Mike	Rummelhart	Team Mack
15		246	Bill	Leibman	Freeport Bicycle Company
16		218	Russ	Damhoff	

Women Open

2	ABR IL	202	Debbie	Dust	PACT-Dishnetwork
	Champion				
14		204	Meghan	Lapeta	Smart Cycling
21		200	Kim	Gialdini	ABD

Master Women 50+

25	ABR IL	212	Powell	Marilyn	ABD
	Champion				

<u>Master 60-64, 65-69, 70+</u> started and raced together in their two-lap 30-mile race. After the first lap Burns and Jurs were off the front, followed by Kallas, Paterson and Kilroy. Alcazar was stuck with a flat. Burns turn on his sprint after burn and won the race with Jurs a close second.

Master 60-64

Overall	ABR IL				
	Champion				
2	Champion	248	Jurs	Dennis	Team Mack
4		216	Kilroy	Patrick	Alberto's
5		225	Kallas	Bill	ABD
6		223	Sumner	Paul	Evanston Bike Club
8		215	Stern	Alan	Velo Club Roubaix
10		214	Alcazar	Victor	unattached

Master 65-69

7	Champion	219	Schiff	Don	QCBC
9		245	Goff	John	

Master 70-74

1	Champion	236	Burns	Robert	Team Mack
3		239	Patterson	Jack	Midwest Masters

Results QUESTIONS: Email: abrlund@aol.com

TEAM DICE: Donnie Miller: bcycleracr@mchsi.com

www.dicetraining.com

THANKS for a great course, the volunteers working the race, the Sheriff and Adventure Quest.